Scroll to top


Gas Industry Co has a board comprising seven non-executive directors, four of whom (including the Chairman) are independent of the gas industry.

Independent Directors


Rt Hon James B Bolger, ONZ


The Right Hon. James Bolger has had a distinguished career in politics that includes being Prime Minister of New Zealand from October 1990 to December 1997, holding ministerial positions for 16 years, and leading the New Zealand National Party for 12 years. He has been the Chair of Gas Industry Co since the Company’s establishment.

Robin G Hill

Deputy Chair

Robin has an extensive background in financial and business management. He was Chairman and Chief Executive of PricewaterhouseCoopers New Zealand from 1992 to 2003. He has been the Deputy Chair since the Company’s establishment.


Andrew Brown

Andrew is a leading corporate lawyer with over 25 years’ experience as a partner at Bell Gully. Since leaving Bell Gully in 2010, Mr Brown worked on his own account and as general counsel for both KiwiRail and Housing New Zealand Corporation. He is currently a commercial advisor with Crown Infrastructure Partners Limited. 


Parekawhia McLean

Parekawhia has over 20 years of public policy and public sector management experience, including with the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.  She is currently the Chair of Te Whakakitenga o Waikato – the governing body of Waikato Tainui, and a Director of Sport Waikato.  Parekawhia has held numerous other governance roles, including with the National Science Resilience Challenge, Waikato Momentum Philanthropic Foundation, Mercury Energy, Te Mangai Paho/Maaori broadcasting funding agency and Waikato Means Business. 



Non-independent Directors 

Nigel Barbour

Nigel is the Chief Executive of Powerco.  Nigel is responsible for leading the business to deliver on all customer, financial and operation targets. He joined Powerco in October 2002 and has been in Executive Management roles for the past 14 years. He was appointed Chief Executive in October 2011. 

In addition to being a board member of the Gas Industry Company, he is also Deputy Chair of the New Zealand Electricity Networks Association.

Nigel has an economics and legal background and has previously held roles with Transpower and Bank of New Zealand.


Gabriel Selischi

Gabriel Selischi studied power engineering in Romania and obtained a master degree in France. He held senior positions with Schlumberger and Gemini Consulting. He managed the transfer of mature offshore oil and gas concessions to National Oil Companies. He has acted as Change Manager for the post-merger integration of Total, Fina and Elf in Europe.

Mr Selischi joined OMV in 2007, where he served in several different roles before becoming an Executive Board member responsible for the Upstream Division of Petrom. His various international positions have taken him to several countries  in the EU, Africa, and Australasia. As of April 2016, Mr Selischi was appointed Senior Vice President responsible for the Australasia organisation of OMV where he managed the acquisition and integration of the Shell assets and the creation of the SapuraOMV JV.


Mike Fuge

Mike Fuge has over 30 years’ experience in the energy sector which has included 19 years with Shell International in upstream oil and gas production over a range of countries in Europe, Middle East and South East Asia.  He is currently CEO of Contact Energy, having previously headed up Refining NZ Ltd and Pacific Hydro Ltd (based out of Melbourne).

Page last saved: 28 September, 2020
Sign up to receive regular updates from Gas Industry Co

Get in touch

P 04 472 1800
A Gas Industry Co
Level 8, The Todd Building
95 Customhouse Quay
PO Box 10-646
Wellington 6143

Copyright © 2021 Gas Industry Company | Terms & Conditions